Economic Development Corporation of Mariposa County    

About the EDC of Mariposa County

The EDC is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization with a mission to promote sustainable economic growth throughout Mariposa County. In existence since 1990, the EDC’s objective is to enhance and diversify the local economy in a way that improves the economic prosperity of all Mariposans, both individually and collectively, while preserving our cherished quality of life. The EDC is governed by an all-volunteer Board of Directors and Advisory Council, and has established a public/private partnership with Mariposa County’s Economic Development Office to operate a Business Assistance Center that assists businesses with their plans for relocation, start-up or expansion. Please contact our Executive Director if you are in need of such assistance.

Download the EDC's Flier

Board of Directors and Officers

Dane Carlson (President) – Dane is the CEO of the Mariposa County Chamber of Commerce & Visitor Center, and also serves on the boards of the Central Sierra Economic Development District and the Yosemite/Mariposa County Tourism Bureau. Previously, he was a blogger and founder of the Business Opportunities Weblog.

Matt Foraker (Treasurer) – Matt is Vice President and Yosemite Division Manager with Yosemite Bank, A Division of Premier Valley Bank, where he currently manages the Mariposa, Oakhurst and Groveland Banking Centers.

Carol Johnson – Having vacationed in Mariposa for nearly two decades, Carol began living here full-time as a telecommuter for IBM, and is now retired as a photographer and also a director on the boards of the Mariposa County Arts Council, and the Mariposa County Fair and Homecoming.

Les Marsden – Les is a former New York/London-based actor, director, producer, playwright whose vision of the arts as an economic force is demonstrated by the Mariposa Symphony Orchestra, which he founded as Music Director/Conductor in 2002.

Candy O'Donel-Browne – Candy, now retired, served as the Executive Director of the EDC after selling the Yosemite-Mariposa KOA Campground, which she and her husband had previously operated for over a decade. Candy also serves as an advisor to the Yosemite/Mariposa County Tourism Bureau.

Marilyn Saunders (First Vice President) – Marilyn retired from the corporate compliance unit of a large commercial insurance carrier and moved from the Bay Area to her favorite foothill community in 2003. Marilyn also serves on the board of the Mariposa Community Foundation.

Tara Schiff (Ex-Officio) – As the Community Development/Grant Coordinator for Mariposa County, Tara serves as an ex-officio board member. Tara and her family moved to Mariposa in 2008, and with more than 25 years of experience in marketing and business development, Tara is dedicated to helping the local economy thrive.

Karen Smith (Secretary) – Karen is a realtor with Daily & Company, and is involved with the Rotary, American Association of University Women and the JC Fremont Hospital Foundation. Prior to moving to Mariposa in 2002, Karen worked for the military, and in private sector software development and international marketing.

John Stewart (Second Vice President) – John, a 29 year resident of Mariposa, has managed three local businesses before moving to the Mariposa School District where he has been employed for the last eighteen years and also serves on the Board of Directors for the CSEA.

Advisory Council

Roger Biery
Barry Brouillette
Kevin Cann
Rick Cordeiro
Daniel Flaming
Tolley Gorham
Mary Ann Huff
Merlin Jones
Brenda Ostrom
Lyle Turpin
Lowell Young